A Few Words on the Incidents in Barcelona

A lot has happened in Barcelona and the surrounding area over the course of the last 24 hours. I’d like to take a minute here to express my support and prayers for the deceased and their families, as well as for those who were injured or affected in any way.

I hope the cowards who perpetrated these horrible atrocities are brought to justice.

I hope good prevails over evil and this senseless barbarism comes to an end.

I hope we return to normalcy as soon as possible.

On a personal note, the Honey Bee and I have grown to love Spain and we hold it very dear to our hearts. Seeing such atrocious acts of violence in a place we love and call home is truly heartbreaking. However, we are confident that the perpetrators will not succeed in sowing the seeds of fear and bewilderment. This is already evident from the crowds of people in the street less than 24 hours after the incident chanting “No tenemos miedo!¨ (We are not scared!).

Spain is a diverse country and has always stood out because it has avoided the kind of outright xenophobia and racism that is rampant in other parts of the world. It has welcomed and continues to welcome foreigners from the world over. I am confident that these incidents will not affect that, and that Spain will bounce back stronger and even more united than before.

Viva España!

