Taste Memories

Isn’t it amazing how we have memories tied to certain a taste, or smell or song? And isn’t it funny how you don’t realize you had that memory until something triggers it?

Yesterday, after enjoying a nice evening walk the Honey Bee and I were headed home for dinner. We happened to cross a new Mexican restaurant that we’ve been meaning to visit, but never have. On an impulse, we decided to dine there.

I ordered a burrito and on the very first bite, as soon as it hit my tongue, I was immediately transported back some 10 years to when I was a student in the US. The university cafeteria had a burrito that tasted just like it.

The burrito was good, but nothing I’d write home about. However, the memory it triggered made me relish the burrito. With every bite I took, I was re-living my care free university days. I was enjoying it so much that the Honey Bee had to ask me to keep the noises from my foodgasm down. 😛

While writing this post, I did some quick desktop research on the subject and was pleasantly surprised to find research on the subject. Here’s an extract of a summary of one of the findings:

A functional link between the brain region responsible for taste memory and the area responsible for encoding the time and place we experienced the taste had been found. The findings expose the complexity and richness of the simple sensory experiences that are engraved in our brains and that in most cases we aren’t even aware of.

Suffice it to say, I liked the memory it triggered that I was unaware I had and that we will definitely be going back to that restaurant.

One thought on “Taste Memories

Comments are closed.