The Dying Computer Saga

At the end of the last post, I promised to share the saga of how my laptop was destroyed. So let’s jump right into it:

I had a Lenovo Ideapad that functioned brilliantly. It was a zippy little machine that never failed to perform. However, where it did fail was the hardware. Within the first year and a half of having it, the plastic frame started to break away from the screen & the hinge. While trying to find a fix online, I found this was a common defect with this particular model. As a quick solution, I duct taped them together and that was that.

What happened next isn’t entirely Lenovo’s fault. A couple of months later, I was in a hurry and tripped over the power cord, which happened to be plugged in. The computer flew from the two foot high coffee table and landed with a loud thud on the floor. Apart from having undone my duct tape repairs, the entire left hinge had also separated from the laptop. The prognosis was not good, but it seemed like the laptop would survive, kind-of.

Nonetheless, the machine still continued to work without a fault. Not wanting to throw away a perfectly functioning computer, I continued to use it for another year or so on the one good hinge. A slight inconvenience, but manageable with a little patience. Eventually (and as can be expected), the second hinge also broke. The machine could no longer serve as a laptop because the screen couldn’t support itself without hinges. So I sat it on a table and propped it against a wall. After 3 years, my laptop was now officially a desktop.

One fine day a couple of months later, the screen failed to turn on. To test the machine, I connected it to the television using an HDMI cord and found the machine still worked. It was only the screen that had failed. The CPU (i.e. the heart of the computer) still worked fine. Determined not to throw away a still somewhat functioning computer, I bought an external monitor.

No prizes for guessing what happened next. When I tried to connect the monitor for the img_20161112_202106first time, the entire laptop failed to power on. We tinkered with it and tried all sorts of things but to no avail. As a last resort the Honey Bee recommended we try opening it and taking a look under the hood to see if it was something obvious. After over 4 years, this Lenovo Ideapad was finally declared dead.

The next big task ahead of me was choosing a new laptop. After what probably amounted to days of research, and multiple shortlists, I finally took the plunge and bought a Lenovo Yogapad. The reviews were good, the price was excellent and the laptop was pretty good to look at. Unfortunately, it wasn’t quite what I expected and also felt sluggish. Sadly, I returned it. Tired from researching, and almost in despair over my inability to choose a good machine, I was about to give up all hope.

Just then, like a ray of hope from heaven, I saw an advertisement for the revolutionary Chromebook. A few days of research and I was convinced this was the right thing for me. dc11For the unitiated, the Chromebook is a laptop made by the same traditional manufacturers (Dell, Lenovo, Asus, Samsung, etc.), but instead of Windows it uses Google’s Chrome browser as an operating system. Google describes it best… “The Chromebook is a new, faster computer. It starts in seconds, and offers thousands of apps. It has built-in virus protection, and backs up your stuff in the cloud.” I’ve had it for over a week now and couldn’t be happier. If you’re thinking of buying one, I’d highly recommend it. Check back here for a detailed review of my Chromebook in the coming weeks.

