Down with the Flu

Flu

I recently suffered from a bout of the flu. But not the normal kind that comes and goes in 2-3 days. No sir! Mine lasted a full 9 days. And the timing- impeccable. I had to take 3 days off from work and waste a 5 day Easter weekend holiday, or Semana Santa as it’s known in Spain.

At the beginning, I thought I would enjoy “relaxing” at home and doing nothing. But I was wrong. Due to the medication and weakness, I was sleeping most of the day and night. It got to the point where I was so fed up of sleeping that I found the thought of going to bed repugnant. The long hours in bed gave me severe back sores.

Trapped at home for so many days, I tried to get out for a change of atmosphere once every couple of days, but the cold weather and my lack of energy made those trips very short. About 4 days in, I was so frustrated that I decided to go to work anyway. Seeing my state, they promptly sent me home.

Now that I have recovered, I can’t be more appreciative for good health and thankful for being able to do the small and basic things. Things like going to the gym, or eating good food, or even going for a walk. Apart from this, I am also taking extra precautions to strengthen my immune system.

As a child, my mother on multiple occasions unsuccessfully tried to force feed me a dirty blackish-brown Prashgunky (dare I say poo like) concoction that comes from ancient Indian medicine. Made from a whole bunch of exotic herbs, spices and such, it is prepared according to instructions provided in ancient Ayurvedic texts. For this of you wondering what Ayurvedic means, it refers to an ancient system of alternative medicine that originated in the Indian subcontinent. The gunk, Chyawanprash, is touted for its many health benefits, which include strengthening the immune system.

In India, there are a number of individuals that make it at home and sell it. However, it is also commercially available, and the most well-known manufacturer is the billion dollar Indian consumer goods company Dabur.

In any case, although I initially outright rejected it, there have been phases in my life when I have gone back to it for a short period. Maybe it’s all in my head, but consuming it really makes me feel healthier, and I find myself not taking ill as often.

Anyway, my point is I am very glad to be healthy again, and appreciate being able to do all the small everyday things I took for granted. And I am going to do what I can to keep it that way.

To good health and living more!

(A special shout-out to the Honey Bee for being so patient and putting up with all my grumpiness and crankiness during this time, and in general. smile emoticon )

 

