Walk it off…

 

Walking

Winter is coming! Winter is coming!

Well, it’s here. The temperature has started dropping, the sun now rises later, and sets earlier.  As if it wasn’t already hard enough to wake up early and go jogging, all these changes have now made it even harder. Heck, nowadays I’m thankful if I manage to just wake up on time for work.

As a result, the winter pounds have started piling on. However, I can’t blame just the winter or the Honey Bee’s delicious and indulgent cooking. The truth of the matter is I have gotten a teeny bit lazier with the onset of winter. This has resulted in us scrambling to find other ways to keep fit. We tried joining a gym last winter, but you can guess how that worked out. We went a few times, but given what we paid for the membership, it was far from worth it. We might have been better off investing in oil stocks. 😛

Thanks to the Honey Bee we have now started taking more walks. Every day after work, we walk around the city center. With the cool weather, it makes for a really nice way to wind down at the end of the day. Not to mention the many benefits walking brings. It strengthens the heart, lowers disease risk, keeps weight in check, tones your body, gives you energy, and best of all it makes you happy.

No wonder then that hundreds of people are doing the same thing. When we reach the city center, it is flooded with all kinds of people-young, old, families, and even babies. That’s right! It’s not uncommon to see week old new-born babies being hauled around in baby carriers, strapped to the front/back of their parents.

I personally, am embracing it with open arms and loving it. A simple evening walk helps me relax and makes me feel better. It makes me feel productive and prevents me from becoming an evening potato, sprawled out on the couch watching TV. In fact, I enjoy it so much that in addition to our evening walks, I decided to start walking to and from work. That’s right! Leaving the car keys at home, I tried it for the first time this week, and couldn’t be happier. I reached the office far more awake than ever before, and with a lot more positive energy. I’m trying to make the most of it before it gets too cold. Let’s see how much longer I can keep it up.

So, if you’re the intellectual Greek philosopher type, Hippocrates put it best when he said “Walking is man’s best medicine.”

If you’re not, then heed the words of another great philosopher, Homer (Simpson) after having a drawbridge land on his head “…I’ll just walk it off!” Doh

